My First Hardy Rod OTW to me!

This board is for discussing the collecting of bamboo fly rods, both classic and modern. Remember that respect and civility is the goal of this board.

Moderator: TheMontyMan

steve kelley

My First Hardy Rod OTW to me!

Post by steve kelley »

Hi - I'm a true newbie here but an excited one. Ever since I was a kid in high school I wanted a Hardy rod but of course could not come close to affording one.. Now sixty years later, I am about to own one. Found on ebay, it should arrive Monday or Tuesday. It is a Hardy Hollokona 7'6" 3 piece Hollow Built #5, built in 1956 and supposedly in mint condition.

I should add I have not fly fished in many years and am really just fulfilling a boyhood dream here. So as you may suspect I am pretty ignorant and have two questions that I hope someone can help me with: 1. What does the #5 mean? 2. I do want to complete this buy by getting an appropriate vintage Hardy reel - the question is what kind of Hardy reel will fit and make sense on a relatively light rod like this and where should I be looking? ebay?

Thank you so much.

Steve

steve kelley

Re: My First Hardy Rod OTW to me!

Post by steve kelley »

And I do have a fly reel already here which should fit but I would prefer a vintage Hardy reel; just seems morre appropriate - there are some on ebay but I'm unsure which one to bid on. Prices seem to range from $50 to several hundred dollars - given my level of ignorance that seems a bit strange.

hatch
Master Guide

Post by hatch »

Steve, The price in Hardy reels varies depending on model, age and condition. My guess is that a Hardy Uniqua 3" diameter might fit your needs and hold a 5wt line which your rod may require. You may have to cast the rod with different weight lines to see what suits your style. A "good enough" 3" uniqua might cost you #150.--$200. A 1950s vintage Hardy Lightweight reel might also do the trick. It will hold a 5 weight line with very little backing. Cost about $150.

Godfroy