Dry fly fishing for Atlantic salmon?

This board is for discussing concerns of fishing bamboo fly rods. Examples would be, lines, actions, classic and modern makers actions and the like.

Moderators: pmcroberts, uniphasian

Marterius
Master Guide

Dry fly fishing for Atlantic salmon?

Post by Marterius »

What is your experience with dry fly fishing for Atlantic salmon? If you are into this, what is your favourite setup? I am more and more thrilled by the idea. If I shall continue to spend so many fruitless hours on salmon fishing, I might at least try to improve the experience using a dry fly and bamboo. I will at least boost my reputation as an eccentric. :)

Kind regards,
Martin

CDCdun
Bamboo Fanatic

Re: Dry fly fishing for Atlantic salmon?

Post by CDCdun »

I say go for it! That said, I have no experience with it...BUT...I just did a few day trip on the Deschutes for steelhead and all the guys but me were throwing dry flies. We all caught fish. So my next goal is a steelhead on a dry fly. I don’t know how salmon compare to steelhead in eating dries, but I know they’re both possible to get on top. And like you say, what are you going to lose by giving it a try.

Jake

60InchDV8
Master Guide

Post by 60InchDV8 »