Branson MO

This board is for discussing concerns of fishing bamboo fly rods. Examples would be, lines, actions, classic and modern makers actions and the like.

Moderators: pmcroberts, uniphasian

caneguy
Guide

Branson MO

Post by caneguy »

Have rented a cabin in West Branson for the month of May and would appreciate any advise or recommendations on the trout fishing in the area. I will be wading. Thanks, Ray Thanks for the response, folks. I think it will be useful. I am a Missouri resident also and familiar with Branson and Taneycomo, but, was hoping for better insight and that is just what I got. Look for me on Crane Creek and the Little Red during May. By the way, this trip is my wifes idea!

Past Member
Guide

Branson MO

Post by Past Member »

The water on the Current River downstream from the Montauk Trout Park is very nice, good fish, wadable, and beautiful scenery, especially from the Baptist Campground Access on down. Otherwise, get a copy of: Fly Fishing for Trout in Missouri by Chuck Tyron. Amazon.com has copies
(www.amazon.com/Fishing-Tr...F8&s=books

Past Member
Guide

Branson MO

Post by Past Member »

Here's a good map:
currentrivercanoe.com/crmap.html

From the Baptist Camp Access down to Cedar Grove is good water.

Cheers.

gmflyfish
Bamboo Fanatic

Branson MO

Post by gmflyfish »

You can wade below the dam on Lake Taneycomo when they are not running water. You are also close to Crane Creek a wild trout stream in Missouri. It has the purist strain of Mc Cloud River Rainbow in the United States. Roaring River is just an hour drive from Branson .

Gregg

czkid
Administrator

Branson MO

Post by czkid »

Good Grief Man!!!

You are due north of the finest trout fishing in middle America!! Go south to Mountain Home, AR and the White and Norfolk rivers. Record trout of OVER 30 pounds on both the White and the Norfolk.