Angler's Roost Bamboo Blanks

This board is for discussing the repair and restoration of bamboo fly rods, makers discussion and construction techniques relating to same. Examples would be different techniques or methods used by restorationists and makers.

Moderator: Titelines

JeffG
Guide

Post by JeffG »

Just curious if anyone has built a rod using one of the many Angler's roost bamboo blanks. And if yes how did it go? Which one or ones were built. I suspect the bulk of you are Makers not builders here and produce your own blanks but... Curious just the same knowing these blanks are out there, how many Paul Young's T &T's etc... are on ebay or wherever right now having been made from one of these blanks. Not to suggest they are inferior in any way, I am certainly not implying that. I have no knowledge of them at all. As I said earlier I am just curious if anyone has any experience with these blanks. Price wise they seemed pretty cheap or too good to be true as in I could not make a blank for that price if I wanted more than $2 to $3 an hour for labor.

Jeff

canerodscom
Bamboo Fanatic

Re: Angler's Roost Bamboo Blanks

Post by canerodscom »

A fellow asked the Guild for help completing a similar blank and I agreed to help him. The blank is on the way here. Supposedly the blank is built to a Payne 100 taper. I have agreed to evaluate the blank and if it's okay install ferrules and return it to its owner. If the group would like, I'll give a thorough review once it arrives.

Harry

wb4tjh
Bamboo Fanatic

Post by wb4tjh »

Harry, I look foward to hearing your opinion of their blanks. Your's is one opinion that we all can bank on.

bamboo
Master Guide

Post by bamboo »