Baginski Beveler completed

This board is for discussing the repair and restoration of bamboo fly rods, makers discussion and construction techniques relating to same. Examples would be different techniques or methods used by restorationists and makers.

Moderator: Titelines

Richard Essegian
Master Guide

Baginski Beveler completed

Post by Richard Essegian »

With all the discussion on bevelers I decided that the Baginski Beveler would be the way to go. Since Im a hobbyist the cost of a beveler was a major deciding factor. The other deciding factor was the ease of merely running a strip through a few times and having both sides of the strip beveled at the same time. After much discussion with Mike Monsos along with the purchase of his wheels the contraption was put together. Not pretty by any means but cobbled together with junk wood laying around the garage and a few nuts, bolts, washers and wood screws. I did purchase a new grinder on the cheap along with some plexi glass for the enclosure. Believe me, you want the enclosure! While running test strips through prior to boxing it in I think I had a 2/2 rod caked in my nose! The other warning, make sure you have a hold of the strip while feeding. I thought I did and had a strip shoot from the in feed side and richochet off all corners of the garage. Funny but not so funny!