Kingfisher Rod Markings

This is the board to ask about the identity, or for an appraisal, of a rod. Please use the outline as explained on the board. If there is a makers name, list that in the subject line. Make sure you include the length, number of sections, any identifying markings and the general condition. Adding photographs is always helpful!

Moderator: TheMontyMan

MICS

Kingfisher Rod Markings

Post by MICS »

Hello all,

Today I found what appears to be a Kingfisher Bamboo rod. I have zero experience with this type of gear and am looking for some help.

It has the Kingfisher moniker on the reel base but I cannot find any other marks. Is there any other marks that I should be looking for? I will be following up with descriptions, lengths and photographs shortly. I don’t envision its worth anything but am interested in the history and think it is a cool piece for my man cave.

Thank you in advance.

Greg

wrong66
Bamboo Fanatic

Re: Kingfisher Rod Markings

Post by wrong66 »

Generally, rods with "Kingfisher" engraved on the reel seat were made by Montague in the 1920's exclusively for sale through Edward K. Tryon Sporting Goods of Philadelphia, who owned the trade marked "Kingfisher" brand name of tackle.

MICS

Post by MICS »

Thank you wrong66.

It definitely looks like it could be that old. Are there any other markings I should be looking for to tell me the model, age etc.?

Truly appreciate the insight. Already looking for the right spot in the cave!

OldCane
Bamboo Fanatic

Post by OldCane »