Rod ID help

This is the board to ask about the identity, or for an appraisal, of a rod. Please use the outline as explained on the board. If there is a makers name, list that in the subject line. Make sure you include the length, number of sections, any identifying markings and the general condition. Adding photographs is always helpful!

Moderator: TheMontyMan

NemasketMike

Rod ID help

Post by NemasketMike »

Found this rod in an antique shop this weekend and couldn't leave it behind. I'm not sure if it is a bamboo rod that was painted or if it is made of another material. I'm new to all this, but I've never seen one like this before. It is hexagonal like all of my other bamboo rods, but different. The makers mark has worn off, but it looks like it was silver and red. Thank you in advance for any information you can share!

On to the pics:

Webfly
Bamboo Fanatic

Re: Rod ID help

Post by Webfly »

Pretty sure it's a Japanese convertible souvenir rod.

NemasketMike

Post by NemasketMike »

That would explain the two tips being very different weights then!
You've opened up a new internet rabbit hole for me to dive down.

Thank you!

edit: it actually looks remarkably like this https://www.ebay.com/itm/164287214469

NewUtahCaneAngler
Bamboo Fanatic

Post by NewUtahCaneAngler »

NemasketMike, by convertible, Webfly means that the handle can be reversed (99.99% sure that there is another hole in the bottom of the butt) and the rod may be used as a fly rod or a spinning rod. These rods don't get much love here and are not really collectible.

steeliefool
Bamboo Fanatic

Post by steeliefool »

If pristine, complete with box and all accesories it would be collectable, IMO, possibily even fishable but unlikely. Rod alone is as stated above.

NemasketMike

Post by NemasketMike »

NewUtahCaneAngler wrote:
11/22/21 13:28