Orvis Limestone Special 8.5', 4.5oz, two tip, 6wt

This is the board to ask about the identity, or for an appraisal, of a rod. Please use the outline as explained on the board. If there is a makers name, list that in the subject line. Make sure you include the length, number of sections, any identifying markings and the general condition. Adding photographs is always helpful!

Moderator: TheMontyMan

trappererick

Orvis Limestone Special 8.5', 4.5oz, two tip, 6wt

Post by trappererick »

My name is Erick and I have been flyfishing here in Maine since 1977 when I was 8 years old. I just inherited an Orvis Bamboo fly rod and Hardy reel to go with it from my dad . The title says it all as far as the rod goes it is in the original tube with serial #70008. Rod has not been fished since early 90's and is in my opinion excellent shape. I am trying to find out the value of this rod for resale. I am not going to fish this rod as I am just not a bamboo guy and would be afraid I would break it in the spots I fish. I would rather see it go to a home that will fish and enjoy the rod instead of just putting it in the closet. I can provide pictures of the rod and reel later if that helps give me a better estimate on resale value. I appreciate your help.

tiptop
Bamboo Fanatic

Re: Orvis Limestone Special 8.5', 4.5oz, two tip, 6wt

Post by tiptop »

If there are no loose ferrules, fishing sets, or other major problems, the rod should bring from $700 - $900 depending on where you try to sell it and how patient you are.

adrien schnee
Bamboo Fanatic

Post by adrien schnee »

I would say $850 to $950 even if excellent condition. I have followed this rod somehwhat over the past two years and they are scarce and quite in demand. I was surprised when a one tip Madison (lower) grade of this rod brought a high bid of over $600 a few months ago at public auction.

Not often seen for sale and a desirable taper.