Yet another fishin' hat thread...

or however that dang word is written! : ) Use this forum to discuss those things that are related to, directly, or indirectly, fly fishing, i.e., tackle, catalogs, single malt scotch, cigar preferences, pipes, camera gear, etc. This is sort of an off topic area but one related to bamboo and fly fishing.

Moderators: czkid, Whitefish Press

prairieschooner
Bamboo Fanatic

Yet another fishin' hat thread...

Post by prairieschooner »

I want me a new fishing hat. I love the look of a good old traditional felt hat, whether it be fedora, cowboy, safari, etc. I have a beautiful Akubra Territory and would use it; thing is, for those of us trapped in the Central Time Zone fishing days can be right up there on the thermometer, and I'm a world class sweat producer; a felt hat would just be too darn hot for me in the summer.

The "Tilly" style probably makes the most sense (lighter and cooler), but don't look as cool - I would like something with a higher crown that would take a good pinch. I need a hat maker who's combined the two I guess. I've used a straw in the summer but they only last me about a season; not around long enough to take on that "character", if you know what I mean. Just kinda musing out loud here; thoughts welcome.
I spent most of my money on shotguns, fly rods, guitars and banjos. The rest I just wasted. (Apologies to W.C. Fields)

jhuskey
Bamboo Fanatic

Re: Yet another fishin' hat thread...

Post by jhuskey »

Take a look at Peter's Bros. Hats (TX) - they have a wide range of straw. Can't go wrong with a Stetson straw or their Peter's Bros. brand hats, just make sure the hat has a good quality sweatband. They are great to talk with on the phone if need be. Someday I want a hat from Rand's in Billings, MT, but need to save up some mulah first. :D

creakycane
Bamboo Fanatic

Post by creakycane »