Field & Stream

An area where you can discuss books about angling, classic tackle, angling literature, your favorite authors, old and new, and any upcoming books you see of interest and of course all the classics as well.

Moderator: Whitefish Press

Eperous
Bamboo Fanatic

Field & Stream

Post by Eperous »

Recently several books were bequeathed to me, including Field & Stream's Treasury of Trout Fishing, edited by Leonard Wright, Jr. There are 47 relatively short chapters regarding trout fishing, each that appeared in Field & Stream magazine between May 1900 and July 1985. Most of the chapters were written by noted authors/anglers, providing interesting reads.

Ed

cutthroatkid
Guide

Re: Field & Stream

Post by cutthroatkid »

When I was an undergraduate the university library had a bound collection of all the old F&S magazines dating back 50 years. After I was done studying I used to peruse some of these issues. There were some notable differences to today's publications. The most striking was the quality of the illustrations - many of the articles were illustrated and the cover art was almost always a painting - sometimes by artists of the quality of Carl Rungius. The magazines were often a visual treat just because of the artwork. Even the pen and ink drawings were by people such as Ned Smith, very high caliber. Now photography has replaced almost all of that, being much cheaper. I still do see some fine artwork accompanying a few articles such as Gierach's in TU's magazine.

One other difference was that there was more fiction and humor. F&S had monthly updates on the shenanigans of the Lower Forty club. Ed Zern's column often had me in stitches. There were occasional outdoor related fiction stories by other authors such as the stories of the Old Duck Hunters Association by Gordon Macquarrie. Today there are still a few last-page articles by guys like McManus and Heavey but by and large the fiction is gone.

I'm sure you're enjoying your foray into the past.