Gamebird prep?

As the name implies this is the Cooks Kitchen. A place to share your favorite recipes, preparations and secrets of how you cook, be it in the kitchen, the tailgate of your truck, shore lunch or campfire.

Moderators: Titelines, Ken M 44

lloyd3
Master Guide

Gamebird prep?

Post by lloyd3 »

Just got back from the North Country with a few goodies for my larder. I know how to deal with the ruffed grouse, what I need is a good woodcock recipe (& perhaps a good sharptail recipe). Anybody here play in the uplands as well?

Bee
Master Guide

Re: Gamebird prep?

Post by Bee »

heck, you have taken out the birds I was going up there for day after tomorrow!!

Im a simple game bird cook and use simple recipe. Breast two breast filets off the larger birds , then cut the breast pieces long ways. Use whole breast with bone in for woodcock. Skin out legs on the birds . Debone thighbone above knee joint. Bacon wrap a la barber pole with toothpicks with thin cheap bacon. Salt and pepper to taste over the bacon. Charcoal or gas, hot . I place birds on the HOT grill, douse the bacon fire with water or the budweiser in my hand, and cook very hot and very fast, and turning maybe once or twice in about a five minute cook time. and serve hot. Did I mention the hot part? The sharptail will rival any fine beef cut, as it appears to be young bird. The woodcock may not take a five minutes and all birds should be rare and NOT over cooked in the least --particularly the woodcock . I find that many recipes cover the distinct taste of each species. I like just the bacon to keep the cooking moist, and the unique flavor of each bird is preserved. .

jhuskey
Bamboo Fanatic

Post by jhuskey »

I could never enjoy the taste of timberdoodles - tried and tried, but never enjoyed them.

Partridge, skin the breasts but leave on the bone (whole with backbone and ribs) - other parts can be cooked for the dog(s)
350 degrees F in a glass bread/meat loaf pan (perfect fit) uncovered