Removing the plastic up locking reel seat

History of the South Bend Rod Co. Feel free to discuss South Bend Rods here.

Moderators: Ken M 44, fishnbanjo

Will C

Removing the plastic up locking reel seat

Post by Will C »

Hello to all who will listen: I recently picked up my second South Bend fly rod a # 59, 9’. I’m a novice to bamboo rods, have always fished graphite. I don’t know much about South Bend bamboo other than the a few generalities I’ve learned here on this web site about dating South Bend rod decals. Well it turns out and I’m sure everyone here knew this but I and that would be there are two different lengths of cork grips on South Bend fly rods!

The first SB rod I picked up was a # 47 with red and gold wraps. I thought that rod was a block of lead. That # 47 is tip heavy to me, well the # 59 with a 6-inch cork grip would be even more tip heavy than the # 47. That 6-inch grip changes the placement of your hand back an inch making the rod even more tip heavy. I picked up the # 59 to fish so I want to find out …

How do you remove the plastic reel seat without damage to the bamboo?

Thank you, Will C

NewUtahCaneAngler
Bamboo Fanatic

Re: Removing the plastic up locking reel seat

Post by NewUtahCaneAngler »

I used a heat gun to remove mine after I removed the pins using pliers. The seat was non salvageable, but I didn't care as I wanted it gone!

Both those rods are long bass weight rods. A South Bend Finalist 1144, 1155 or other heavy reel will be needed to comfortably balance them. Why do you wish to remove the reel seat?

BTW, the 47 is wrapped red with white tipping (over which the varnish has yellowed), just like the 346 dry fly version.

Will C

Post by Will C »