maintenance and care

This board is for discussing the collecting of bamboo fly rods, both classic and modern. Remember that respect and civility is the goal of this board.

Moderator: TheMontyMan

stumpstalker

maintenance and care

Post by stumpstalker »

Is there a permanent thread on this forum that lists the regular care and maintenance measures that a good steward should take with his bamboo rods?

I am a new acquirer of a bamboo rod and have seen or heard random advice, such as that a rod should not be stored but in a tube, but nothing organized or condensed on the subject. (Is it that a tube prevents harmful drying out?)

Also, in the thread that links to an old movie of John Voelker fishing, there is a comment posted about the potentially injurious way the man removes his rod from it's tube. I have viewed that section of the movie a few times, and it still eludes me what Voelker is doing that puts his rod at risk.

I am a novice at fly-rod fishing, tying, et al, and old enough to never get very advanced. I should at least gain some skill and knowledge in the fundamentals of “doing no harm”.

samsonboi
Master Guide

Re: maintenance and care

Post by samsonboi »

First, do not put the rod in its tube when it is wet (i.e. whenever you fish) Always dry it first, then put it away in the tube when dry. Also, do not yank flies out of trees/snags using the bend of the rod. always point the rod straight at the snag and use the strength of the line to pull.
Last edited by samsonboi on 04/24/20 12:06, edited 1 time in total.
"Car ce n'est pas assez d'avoir l'esprit bon, mais le principal est de l'appliquer bien.”- Descartes

Gimmeslack
Sport

Post by Gimmeslack »

Several makers have 'care and feeding' on their websites. Just using google, I see Rick Robbins, Sweetgrass, etc.
https://www.google.com/search?client=fi ... bamboo+rod

samsonboi
Master Guide

Post by samsonboi »

Stumpstalker: what thread do you mean with Voelker? There are several.