Garrison stress graphs

This board is for discussing the repair and restoration of bamboo fly rods, makers discussion and construction techniques relating to same. Examples would be different techniques or methods used by restorationists and makers.

Moderator: Titelines

GeoF

Garrison stress graphs

Post by GeoF »

Hey everyone, I am new to the forum. I am a retired science teacher, avid fly fisherman, new to bamboo, and I like math and graphs. I have a question about The Book, "A Masters Guide...", by Hoagy. If this is the wrong forum for such a question, my apologies, and please redirect me. If someone previously has asked this question, (I would guess likely) again please direct me.

I have a disconnect when I read Chapter 14. Here is the issue:
p241 Hoagy states that the rod used as a model for all these calculations is the 8' model 212.
p257 This is a roughly parabolic graph, titled "2 piece 8'0" ", so I think this is the goal for this taper.
p275 is a chart of the second revision of this taper dimensions. The chart is within a thousandth or two of the p280 chart that gives the exact taper for the model 212 rod. Just small rounding errors are the difference I would guess. The chart on p280 matches exactly the taper on the Hexrod documentation for the model 212.
p277 is a graph titled "8'6" 212 ", which should at least be similar to the 8' version, or is this a typo and he meant to write 8' ??? Anyway, again this graph is roughly parabolic.
Finally, the Hexrod graph for the 8' 212, with taper measures that match p280 exactly, is a basically horiizontal graph with a slight negative slope. What Frank Stetzer would call a graph that is typical of Garrison tapers.

So there is the disconnect that I don't understand:
If the goal is the roughly parabolic graph on p257, then why does the finished rod not match that stress graph at all and instead make a mostly horizontal stress graph as seen on Hexrod??

p257 of The Book

Model 212 from Hexrod