Phillipson fly rod questions

This board is for discussing the collecting of bamboo fly rods, both classic and modern. Remember that respect and civility is the goal of this board.

Moderator: TheMontyMan

flyfishingnewbieG

Phillipson fly rod questions

Post by flyfishingnewbieG »

I have 5 Phillipson fly rods all are pre- 1951 from things I've read. all in wonderful condition. I'm looking to sell some of them but don't know a fair price and the ones I don't sell I'm curious to learn more about them. I will have pictures added this evening, thanks in advance for any information you contribute!

One of the ones I've measured has a length of 6 ft has a signature style "Philipson Pacemaker with the number 68 around the other side

I am very new to fly fishing and don't know all the words and phrases that an avid fly fisher would know. so if you're explaining anything, treat me like a 12 year old.

ozarkwater
Master Guide

Re: Phillipson fly rod questions

Post by ozarkwater »

There is a link that describes the process...viewtopic.php?t=57812

As a start. Also, a good set of pictures. Close ups of reel seats, ferrules, grips, scripting, tip tops. Measurements of the rod sections. Rod bagds and rod tubes! Some rod tubes are worth as much as the rod. Sometimes. Heck, never know if you want to sell someone here might be interested. If you intend on keeping some, maybe a geographic area with intended waters to fish? This will assist the forum members in making some pointed and helpful suggestions.

The folks on here are...well...heck of a resource! So this is the place to go on-line.

You are at the right place.

Welcome.

hatch
Master Guide

Post by hatch »

FlyfishingnewbieG Here are some definitions for you:
reel seat-- the place where the reel is attached
ferrules - the metal pieces where the parts of the rod fit together
rod handle--cork grip
scripting-- any writing that appears on the rod (look above the grip and on the reel seat)