Old Fly Rod Weights

This board is for discussing concerns of fishing bamboo fly rods. Examples would be, lines, actions, classic and modern makers actions and the like.

Moderators: pmcroberts, uniphasian

Geoflaw

Old Fly Rod Weights

Post by Geoflaw »

I’m a newbie so I hope this question isn’t too basic, but I haven’t found the answer on the general internet so I thought I’d ask you guys.

Looking at the old catalogs on this site I see that the old rods were described by length and in ounces. Has anyone ever attempted a method of conversion to the current standard fly line weights, or is it a matter of trial and error? I picked up an old H-I rod at a flea market and was able to find it in the old catalogs, which was kind of cool. Thanks.

redietz
Master Guide

Re: Old Fly Rod Weights

Post by redietz »

It's a matter of trial and error. A longer rod is going to weigh more than a shorter rod that uses the same line. The weight of reel seat, ferrules, wraps, varnish, etc will vary between rods, and some companies just listed the weight of the blank whereas others listed the weight of the finished rods.

The catalogs will usually include a recommended line size, as letters, e.g. HDH or E.

jeffkn1
Bamboo Fanatic

Post by jeffkn1 »

Geof

With some experience you'll begin to see general truths about the relationship between weights and lengths, and you may also see that knowing the ferrule sizes will also help narrow it down.

Low Profile
Guide

Post by Low Profile »

Geoflaw,