Silk, thread or nylon furled leaders on silk line.

This board is for discussing concerns of fishing bamboo fly rods. Examples would be, lines, actions, classic and modern makers actions and the like.

Moderators: pmcroberts, uniphasian

stufit1

Silk, thread or nylon furled leaders on silk line.

Post by stufit1 »

What do you gents prefer for the leaders on your silk lines. I have been using furled leaders almost exclusively for the last several years even on my plastic lines. I am just curious as to what you prefer on your silk lines. I have two Phoenix lines for my bamboo rods and both are double taper lines. This year I have been using a Silk Phoenix furled leader on one and a UNI thread leader on the other. Both seem to work well for drys and wet fly fishing, and they seem to turn over the flies just fine. I have a couple of nylon furled leaders but have not tried them on my silk lines.

Let me know your thoughts.
Thanks
Stuart

GrayHackleRods
Master Guide

Re: Silk, thread or nylon furled leaders on silk line.

Post by GrayHackleRods »

I’ve been making and using silk furled leaders for over 20 years. Just my opinion, the reason to switch from mono or flouro leaders to furled has to to with presentation, furled leaders (thread) give a very nice soft presentation. Now go to a mono or flouro furled leader and you get all the aspects of why you switched. It’s furled thread leaders every time.
Regards,
Lee
http://www.grayhacklerods.net
lee@grayhacklerods.net
Monument, CO
There is no greater fan of fly fishing than the worm.
Patrick F. McManus

kevinhaney1
Master Guide

Post by kevinhaney1 »

Maybe for those of us that are inexperienced in the ways of the furled leader, someone could list the pros and cons of the furled verses monofilament leaders? I'm sure I wouldn't be the only one that would appreciate it...

Kevin
Kevin Haney, Vintage Anglers
http://www.vintageanglers.com

60InchDV8
Master Guide

Post by 60InchDV8 »