what to do with Signature wraps during a bamboo rod restoration

This board is for discussing the repair and restoration of bamboo fly rods, makers discussion and construction techniques relating to same. Examples would be different techniques or methods used by restorationists and makers.

Moderator: Titelines

FlyRdman4990

what to do with Signature wraps during a bamboo rod restoration

Post by FlyRdman4990 »

Hello,

I'm a custom Rod builder buy attempting to restore a bamboo rod for a friend and need some suggestions on how to handle signature wraps, any way to carefully resurface the blank around the signature wraps without having to remove and redo them? I have a couple guides missing and so am to replace the guides and guide wraps to Match. My friend understands that his wraps won't look exactly the same and I did confirm that this Wright Mcgill is not a high value antique rod, it just has sentimental value as his grandfather own it. So I know how to replace the cork grip, reel seat ,guides, tip top and the ferrels are luckily in good shape. But what on earth do I do with the signature wraps ,multiple on this rod and still be able to revarnsh the blank??

Thanks for your time responding, appreciate any suggestions.

bluesjay
Bamboo Fanatic

Re: what to do with Signature wraps during a bamboo rod restoration

Post by bluesjay »

Hi Guys, Which W/M rod is it?

Jay Edwards

Bugtussel
Guide

Post by Bugtussel »

I was wondering what Wright McGill as well. And if doing a restore why not redo all guide wraps so they are the same. And am I to understand you are replacing the grip and reel seat?

Webfly
Bamboo Fanatic

Post by Webfly »