Talleur and Gander River flies

A place to discuss the collecting and tying of classic flies, the tyers who made them famous, the tools, materials and techniques they used as well as the waters they were designed for. While classic is generally used to describe old things, classic is also used in the sense of first class or in the highest form. Therefore a fully dressed Salmon Fly, or a Carrie Stevens Streamer are just as much classics as a Chernobyl Ant would be. Enjoy the forum.

Moderators: Ken M 44, joaniebo

Bill Terry
Guide

Talleur and Gander River flies

Post by Bill Terry »

I have been tying flies for nearly 60 years, but I never tied flies for Atlantic Salmon. I have only gotten interested in pursuing those fish in the past few years, and on my first major salmon-fishing expedition (pre-COVID), the travel agent through whom I arranged the trip supplied flies appropriate for the destination (Norway's Orkla) and time of year (July). I still had most of those flies on my second trip (July of this year to the Restigouche), so I didn't acquire any more. Most of those flies are on double and even treble hooks.

But next summer I'm going to the Gander River in Newfoundland. Unless I'm misinformed, the rules there require single barbless hooks. I looked on the Web for sources of well tied salmon flies, and the best I could find were on the website of the Gaspe Fly Company. But they run 5-8 Canadian dollars apiece. Ouch! So I decided to try my hand at tying them myself.

I acquired "Pretty and Practical Atlantic Salmon Flies," by Dick Talleur, which is a tutorial giving very detailed tying instructions for a selection of flies of increasing complexity. I also got a list of hot flies for the Gander from the lodge where I'll be staying (Gander River Lodge). I have been working my way through the book, and when I learned enough to tie a pattern for the Gander, I tied a few.