What reel for a Orvis 99 7 foot 6 wt?

This board is for discussing concerns of fishing bamboo fly rods. Examples would be, lines, actions, classic and modern makers actions and the like.

Moderators: pmcroberts, uniphasian

agrust

What reel for a Orvis 99 7 foot 6 wt?

Post by agrust »

Hi,

I am new to bamboo. I bought a project rod at a garage sale. A nice Heddon #10 but the guides are rusty and the wraps are coming off. But the cane is in great shape. After that I bought a like new Montague Redwing medium trout. About the same rod. My cousin got interested in bamboo and his wife bought my Redwing for what I paid for his birthday. So, i found a 7' Orvis impregnated "99" made in 1967 44 days after I was born. It is in excellent shape. I am so excited for this rod to arrive to try it out. I have an Orvis Madison (Pflueger) 6/7. Which was made in the 70s I believe. Do you think this will be a good reel for this rod? or should i look for something else?
Thank You in advance for your answers,
Aaron

NewUtahCaneAngler
Bamboo Fanatic

Re: What reel for a Orvis 99 7 foot 6 wt?

Post by NewUtahCaneAngler »

Your Orvis Madison reel will be fine. Other options would be a Pflueger medalist 1492 or Heddon 310 or Young Pridex 3" on the budget conscience side of options. I like that rod with DT5. You may want to visit this thread viewtopic.php?t=130420&hilit=reels+for+ ... t&start=80 to get a visual with that rod and some other popular reels, but most are in the $200 and up range even on the used market. Post 95 has quite a few photos of the Battenkill version of the same rod.

Cheers,
Joe
Last edited by NewUtahCaneAngler on 11/30/22 10:52, edited 1 time in total.

SpringCreek
Bamboo Fanatic

Post by SpringCreek »

Use the Madison reel for sure, and enjoy the new rod!

Jim
Then as it was, then again it will be. Though the course may change sometimes, rivers always reach the sea. - Led Zeppelin, 10 Years Gone

http://www.splittingcane.com

barnesspecial6
Master Guide