Newcomer to silk fly fishing

This board is for discussing concerns of fishing bamboo fly rods. Examples would be, lines, actions, classic and modern makers actions and the like.

Moderators: pmcroberts, uniphasian

Muscarit

Newcomer to silk fly fishing

Post by Muscarit »

Hi, this is my first time posting on this forum! I would like to start fishing with silk fly lines and by reading the post on this subject I found that a good choice will be to buy from Peche a soie. I have read the instructions they provide on their website in which they state that you cannot use mucilin (both types, not just the green one which contains silicon) and my question is if anyone which posses such a silk fly line have broken this rule or which alternative has found for dressing-other provider or homemade recipe?
Thank you in advance!

NewUtahCaneAngler
Bamboo Fanatic

Re: Newcomer to silk fly fishing

Post by NewUtahCaneAngler »

Check your PM in upper right hand corner.

jhuskey
Bamboo Fanatic

Post by jhuskey »

A product called Otter Butter

BigTJ
Bamboo Fanatic

Post by BigTJ »

I use otter butter on mine too. Been about 4 years now. I use the stuff they sent with the line as fly floatant.

John

lloyd3
Master Guide

Post by lloyd3 »

The Otter Butter was a revelation for me (wish it had been developed sooner). My lines float far-longer than with the traditional Red Muclin (4-5 hours versus 2-3 hours in some cases). Otter Butter has brought silk lines into the modern age IMHO. They aren't nearly the liability or even the work they once were.

BigTJ
Bamboo Fanatic

Post by BigTJ »

Since I started using otter butter I’ve never had to swap a line end for end, and that includes days that I have fished 10 or 12 hours.

Muscarit

Post by Muscarit »

Thank you all for the answers, so the best dressing to use will be Otter Butter

Muscarit

Post by Muscarit »

How much time can use a single one?

BigTJ
Bamboo Fanatic

Post by BigTJ »