Good book on Bamboo history

This board is for discussing the collecting of bamboo fly rods, both classic and modern. Remember that respect and civility is the goal of this board.

Moderator: TheMontyMan

seabass14
Guide

Post by seabass14 »

I am very new to this bamboo game and I must admit that I find myself thinking about it more and more (including dreaming both at work and at sleep). I have picked up a few rods now from well known makers but I have seen so many other beautiful rods that come from makers that I am not familiar with. I would love to learn more about these different makers. I also know that many of the makers that are referred to on this board worked for various other rod companies before they went out on their own. This brings me to my question.

Is there a resourse such as a book or website(besides this fine website) where I can find out information about the history of makers and bamboo in general?

Thanks again for all the information you share on this website it is very interesting and fun to read.

Seabass

pvansch1
Administrator

Post by pvansch1 »

Casting a Spell by George Black
He frequents this site as canebrook.
Jeff Hatton's (Gnome) book - just can't remember the name of it.
Pete

BobB
Bamboo Fanatic

Post by BobB »

"Classic Rods and Rodmakers" by Martin Keane
"Classic Rodmakers Past and Present" by Dick Spurr
"Colorado Classic Cane" by Dick Spurr and Michael Sinclair
"Heddon The Rod with the Fighting Heart" by Michael Sinclair
"Classic and Antique Fly-Fishing Tackle" by A.J. Campbell
"The Bamboo Rod Restoration Handbook" by Michael Sinclair

Well, that's a few off the top of my head that should keep you occupied for a while!
Bear in mind that some of these books are no longer in print and have become rather pricey! A few are still readily available on used book sites via Google or your favorite search engine.

Hopeful that this is the type of information for which you are looking?

Bob

explorer48

Post by explorer48 »