Help with choosing a reel

A place to discuss those classic and vintage fly reels, classics include modern variations of those of vintage. Please add your photos, stories or just join in conversation about your reels.

Moderators: Ken M 44, fishnbanjo

pppolsky

Help with choosing a reel

Post by pppolsky »

Through this site I learned that I have a very early 1909-1912 9' 6" Horrocks Ibbotson President fly rod. I am new to fly fishing and need some suggestions as to what type of reel, line weight etc. I should be looking for. I imagine it should be some type of vintage reel. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

bulldog1935
Bamboo Fanatic

Re: Help with choosing a reel

Post by bulldog1935 »

you're going to want something fairly heavy.
Sticking to period, Rochester Ideal or Meisselbach Expert would be my recommendations
http://oldreels.com/rochester_reels.htm
http://oldreels.com/experts.htm

line? very likely a 6-wt. That was a trout-length rod at that time, though you might check with a more knowledgeable historian on the forum
memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=230
memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=421

ps, if you just want the weight and don't care about matching the period, Martin 72 multiplier is a great choice.

pppolsky

Post by pppolsky »

Thanks for the suggestions. I am totally new at this but I have spent days and hours looking at reels. I had been thinking about Medalist 1495 or 1495 1/2. I have seen the Martin 72 but read where many people complained about the weight. Perhaps for my rod it wouldn't be a problem. The first two you suggested might be difficult to find and might have some condition issues. However, I will check them out. I favor the Martin for the retrieval. I have seen new Martin Mohawk MR72. I don't think you mean these new one. I really am looking at an older model just plain number 72. Thanks again for the suggestions. I really needed some input.

bulldog1935
Bamboo Fanatic

Post by bulldog1935 »

hard to go wrong with the Medalist